Skip To Main Content

Superintendent Rundle Recognizes Employees of the Year, Retiring Staff, and Service Milestones at Ceremony in MIHS Library

Superintendent Rundle Recognizes Employees of the Year, Retiring Staff, and Service Milestones at Ceremony in MIHS Library
Ian Henry

Mercer Island, WA, May 31, 2023 – Mercer Island School District Superintendent Dr. Fred Rundle recognized the District’s Employees of the Year, Retiring Staff, and staff with a years of service milestone in a ceremony this evening in the MIHS Library. Rundle was joined by Mercer Island Education Association (MIEA) President Sally Loeser at the ceremony. 

The 2022-23 MISD Certificated Employees of the Year are:

Kate Yoder – Math, MIHS
Melissa Gaffney – Language Arts/Social Studies/Electives, IMS
Elizabeth Ohvall – Special Services, Northwood

The 2022-23 MISD Classified Employees of the Year are:

Kristin Brintnall – Administration Assistant, MIHS
Lisa Elefson – Paraeducator, Northwood
Ron Pham – Technology Specialist, MIHS

Four MISD staff members are retiring after the 2022-23 school year. They include:

Shawn Cusack
Roy Ellingsen
Evelyn Jiménez
Jay Little

The District recognizes years of service by staff in five year increments. This year Rundle recognized these staff members for their continuous contributions to the District.

45-Year Service Recognition
Jane Dolence
Francis Materi

35-Year Service Recognition
Dave Bentley

25-Year Service Recognition
Kirsten Bourke
Jamie Cooke
Tanya Goodman-Sylvester
Aaron Noble
Chris Twombley

20-Year Service Recognition
Mary Jo Budzius
Michele Frisch
Liz Kuhn
Phuoc La
Erica Ottesen
Kelly Rorem
Suh-Jen Tsaur
David Willecke

15-Year Service Recognition
Clair Cullen
Anne Fukui
Christine Kenyon
Jay Little
Chris Cocklin-Ray
Susan Rindlaub
Shelley Sage
Cary Spitz
Carley Tallman
Nova Williams

10-Year Service Recognition
Shawn Cusack
Jayna Dash
Jessie Dye
Melissa Gaffney
Amanda Higgins
Oscar Kelley
Ellinor LeMaster
Marisa LeVeque
Kathleen Long
Kristen McBurney
Jen McLellan
Scott Ritchie
Susan Skarperud
Madeleine Tessier
Tri Vu
Deana Wiatr
Patti Williams

5-Year Service Recognition
Diana Apacible
Simone Carmel
Pak Cheung
Cindy Cole
Renee De Bock
Kristi Diederich
Martina Fitzgerald
Katie Gallagher
Sarah Hart
Elizabeth Holland
Michael Hughes
Griffen Jones
Emily King
Denise Knopp
Jiovanna Koceski
Devin Kubat
Karen Lauritzen
Cody Layton
Cuong Ly
Yashmi Malik
Ellen Marks
April McNeill
Elizabeth Melton-Grace
Barb Middleton
Susan Miller
Angela Mitchell
Stephanie Moffat
Brenna Nelson
Sean O'Callaghan
Elizabeth Ohvall
Alex Perry
Holly Purcell
Hoa Quach
Jamie Robertson
Jessie Robinson
Annalise Rockow
Katelynn Ronje
Becky Sandwith
Leslie Seelye
Jane Smith
Tyler Stevens
Courtney Taylor
Denise Thomas
Lisa Thomas
Thu Truong
Bev vanHartesvelt
Ben Yada